The New Version of Google Analytics: How to Give Access to Another User

google analytics access

In order to understand how your website is performing you need to have a web analytics tool installed. One of the most widely used web analytics tools is Google’s free tool, Google Analytics.

Once your account is set up, you may need to give other people access to it. For example, people in your marketing team who want to evaluate the response to your marketing campaigns, or perhaps website service providers who want to see how your website is performing before making changes.

The good news is that you can give other people access to your Google Analytics account without sharing your password.

Watch the video to find out how to give another user access using the New Version of Google Analytics.

The person who needs access must give you their Google linked email address, and you need to decide if you will give them “Administrator” level access, which means they have full control – including adding and deleting users – or “User” level access, which means they can only view the reports.

If you’ve given people access to your account using the Old Version of Google Analytics in the past, you’ll see that getting to the User Admin screen is quite different.

And if you don’t want certain people to have access to your account anymore, the video also shows you how to delete users. But before you delete an Administrator, always make sure someone you know and trust will still have Administrator level access.

Want to know more about Google Analytics?

Check out the links in Using Google Analytics to improve your website.

And if you have questions, feel free to leave a comment and let me know.

Until next time

Melinda